Massive Difficulty Spike?

Discussion in 'Questions' started by Twitchitarian, Dec 19, 2016.

1. Twitchitarian

Twitchitarian N00b

Hi! I am relatively new to Unturned. I've played around quite a bit on easy mode, so I thought I would try to take on normal. But normal mode is destroying me! It feels like there is a huge difficulty spike between easy and normal. I'm mostly having trouble in that all zombies (except the crawlers) can outrun me as long as I'm not running, and I just get owned through the massive loss of immunity. I'm playing on 3.17.10 (the latest version to the time of this post). Is there a bug? Am I doing something wrong? Am I just a pathetic noob? Any advice would be awesome!

2. PortalStream

PortalStream N00b+

I agree with you, as there does seem to be a big difficulty spike. Such as the addition of bleeding and bone fracturing and hunger and thirst depleting faster. I'd suppose it is trying to seem 'realistic' in the sense of that you can't outrun zombies when you first start off, but yes, it is difficult compared to Easy mode. A big tip I cannot stress enough however, is remember to upgrade your skills! The key 'U' is the default, or just click the tab from the inventory screen. This way, you are more fit to take on zombies. On the topic of tips, start off normal and hard modes by lurking in the hills and scavenging off of campsites and farms. As they contain weapons and fewer zombies than towns and cities.

Last edited: Dec 24, 2016
    Sh4ggy and Twitchitarian like this.
  3. Sh4ggy

Sh4ggy N00b+

It sounds like you're having some trouble, here's a few tips:

Get a silenced easy-to-find weapon, (Crossbow, Compound, Pistol with silencer, etc)

Start killing some zombies and upgrade Cardio and Exercise first to get some speed advantage over them.

After you gain a healthy amount of XP upgrade Immunity to be less susceptible to zomb attacks.

Eventually search for and find a Chainsaw or other melee weapon, but Chainsaw is best.